Standards for Accreditation and Working Groups

Middle States Commission on Higher Education accreditation is an expression of confidence in an institution’s mission and goals, its performance, and its resources. An institution is accredited when the educational community has verified that its goals are achieved through self-regulation and peer review. The extent to which each educational institution accepts and fulfills the responsibilities inherent in the process of accreditation is a measure of its commitment to striving for and achieving excellence in its endeavors.

The institution’s mission defines its purpose within the context of higher education, the students it serves, and what it intends to accomplish. The institution’s stated goals are clearly linked to its mission and specify how the institution fulfills its mission.

Standard I – Working Group

Dr. Carlos González, Chair

From May 2022 to April 2023

Dr. Nancy Viana Vázquez, Co-Chair

Faculty, College of Social Sciences

Dr. Ana Helvia Quintero

Academic Senator; Faculty, College of Natural Sciences 

Dr. Rosa Rodríguez Benítez

Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research

Dr. Lorna Jaramillo Nieves

Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies and Research

Dr. Agnes Bosch Irizarry

Dean, College of Humanities

Dr. Mirerza González Vélez

Associate Dean, College of Humanities

Ms. Cynthia Rivera-Sánchez

President, General Student Council

Ethics and integrity are central, indispensable, and defining hallmarks of effective higher education institutions. In all activities, whether internal or external, an institution must be faithful to its mission, honor its contracts and commitments, adhere to its policies, and represent itself truthfully.

Standard II – Working Group

Dr. María Medina, Chair

Academic Senator; Faculty, College of Education 

Dr. Carmen Figueroa Jiménez, Co-Chair

Academic Senator; Faculty, College of Business Administration 

Prof. Oscar Miranda Miller

Faculty, School of Law

Dr. Myra Pérez Rivera

Faculty, College of Business Administration 

Dr. Ada Lucía Verdejo Carrión

Faculty, College of Education

Mrs. Coralie Pacheco Valcárcel

Ombudsman, Student Ombusman Office

An institution provides students with learning experiences that are characterized by rigor and coherence at all program, certificate, and degree levels, regardless of instructional modality. All learning experiences, regardless of modality, program pace/schedule, level, and setting are consistent with higher education expectations.

Standard III – Working Group

Dr. Frances Ruiz Alfaro, Chair

Faculty, College of Social Sciences

Dr. Yahaira Torres Rivera, Co-Chair

Acting Dean of Distance Education Affairs

Dr. Javier Carrión Guzmán

Faculty, College of Education

Dr. Eunice Pérez Medina, Chair

Acting Associate Dean, College of General Studies

Dr. Rafael L. Irizarry Odlum

Faculty, Graduate School of Planning

Dr. Teófilo Espada Brignoni

Faculty, College of Social Sciences

Dr. Wanda Reyes Velázquez

Faculty, College of Communication and Information

Dr. Carmen Pacheco Sepúlveda

Director, Center for Academic Excellence

Dr. Luis Joel Donato Jiménez

Director, LabCAD (Laboratory for Computational Support to Faculty for Technologies Inclusion)

Across all educational experiences, settings, levels, and instructional modalities, the institution recruits and admits students whose interests, abilities, experiences, and goals are congruent with its mission and educational offerings. The institution commits to student retention, persistence, completion, and success through a coherent and effective support system sustained by qualified professionals, which enhances the quality of the learning environment, contributes to the educational experience, and fosters student success.

Standard IV – Working Group

Dr. Gloria Díaz Urbina, Chair

Dean of Students’ Affairs

Dr. Zulyn Rodríguez Reyes, Co-Chair

Mrs. Sheila Lugo Amaral, Co-Chair

Registrar, Registrar’s Office (From April 2022 to May 5, 2023) Acting Registrar, Registrar’s Office (May 6, 2023 further)

Mrs. Ángeles D. Méndez Concepción

Acting Director, Office of Admissions

Dr. Ivelisse Acevedo Moreno

Coordinator, Graduate Student Affairs

Dr. Javier Almeyda Loucil

Library System Representative

Dr. Manuel Rivera

Department of Counseling for Student Development (DCODE) Representative

Ar. Darwin Marrero

Assistant Dean of Student’s Affairs

Prof. Sandra Sánchez González

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

Silvia Ayala Torres

General Student Council Representative (Cert. 067, Academic Year 2022-2023)

Assessment of student learning and achievement demonstrates that the institution’s students have accomplished educational goals consistent with their program of study, degree level, the institution’s mission, and appropriate expectations for institutions of higher education.

Standard V – Working Group

Dr.  Héctor Aponte Alequín, Chair

Acting Associate Dean, College of Education

Dr. Vivian Olivera Santiago, Co-Chair

Institutional Coordinator for Programs’ Periodic Assessment

Dr. Isabel Montañez Concepción

Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs; Director, Division of Institutional Research and Assessment

Dr. Ramaris Albert Trinidad

Faculty, College of Communication and Information

Adriana Casillas Guevara

Graduate student, College of Education

Yngrid Salazar Tavara

Graduate student, College of Education

Angel N. Ortiz Montañez

Undergraduate student, College of Education

The institution’s planning processes, resources, and structures are aligned with each other and are sufficient to fulfill its mission and goals, to continuously assess and improve its programs and services, and to respond effectively to opportunities and challenges.

Standard VI – Working Group

Dr. Basilio Arroyo Rivera, Chair

Director, Office of Strategic Planning and Budgeting 

Mr. Edgardo Díaz Labrador, Co-Chair

Director, Office of Finance

Dr. Aida L.  Jiménez Torres

ALO; Faculty College of Social Sciences

Dr. Nivia A. Fernández Hernández

Director, Graduate Program in Nutrition and Dietetics; Faculty College of Natural Sciences

Ms. Aurora Sotográs Saldaña

Director, Division of Continuing Education and Professional Studies (DECEP)

Dr. Nancy Abreu Báez

Director, Library System

Ms. Yadymar Figueroa Rivera

Student Representative, Administrative Board

The institution is governed and administered in a manner that allows it to realize its stated mission and goals in a way that effectively benefits the institution, its students, and the other constituencies it serves. Even when supported by or affiliated with governmental, corporate, religious, educational system, or other unaccredited organizations, the institution has education as its primary purpose, and it operates as an academic institution with appropriate autonomy.

Standard VII – Working Group

Mrs. Anaisa López Cédres, Chair

Acting Dean of Administration

Dr. Carlos Sánchez Zambrana, Co-Chair

Dean, College of General Studies

Dr. Nellie E. Torrado Pérez

Acting Associate Dean of Academic Affairs; Faculty College of Education

Dr. Reinaldo Berrios

Acting Dean, Deanship for Graduate Studies and Research

Ms. Aurora Sotográs Saldaña

Executive Secretary, Administrative Board

Dr. Claribel Cabán Sosa

Secretary, Academic Senate

Mr. Rubén Rodríguez Ocasio

Director, Division of Academic and Administrative Technologies

Mr. Delvin Caraballo Rodríguez

Student Representative, Board of Governance, UPR System, College of Natural Sciences

Sebastian Morales Tirado

General Student Council Representative (Cert. 068, Academic Year 2022-2023)

Angel Rodríguez Ramírez

General Student Council Representative (Cert. 068, Academic Year 2022-2023)

Evidence Inventory – Working Group

Mrs. Sandra E. Flores Pabón, Chair

Analyst Electronic Systems, IPEDS Keyholder; Keyholder, UPR License Renovation

Mr. Jan Flores Guzmán

Coordinator, Technical Services to Users

Mrs. Adria Bermúdez Ramírez

Keyholder, UPR License Renovation